May 31, 2013

  • The End. Almost.

    well, dang. 

    I know I had already started moving my Xanga “best of” over to a WordPress site so my “public face” would reside somewhere more …. interesting? lively? stable?  But I am still kinda sad to hear that Xanga is on its death bed.

    Granted, it’s been dying for years, and only a few people really keep it running anymore. Anybody who used to write truly interesting content fled to other sites years ago. I’m just here because I’ve already got such a history here, and because the “protected posting” feature is still unparalleled.  You can hack WordPress to do something similar, via password protected posting but it’s not as secure. Blogger has a login feature for Google users (and who doesn’t have a gmail account these days) but it’s a clunky interface.

    Anyway…. I’ve been writing on Xanga since March of 2005.  A pretty significant 8 years of my life, to be honest.  Not all of my best writing is here, but I’ve run across some posts that frankly surprised me because I hadn’t even remembered having those thoughts! 

    If you follow me here, go check out the WordPress site. It’s starting to look better, I think. Still a bit clunky….WP.com (free) themes go only so far. But I’m trying to write regularly…..

     

    Geez. Eight years.  This would have been easier if I’d been writing in paper journals, right? 

    But what amazing community I would have missed out on….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *