August 1, 2011

  • My Fav “Can’t Live Without” Kitchen Gadgets

    As I was putzing around in the kitchen today mixing up a 4-bean salad for supper and popping a coconut-lime buttermilk pie in the oven (along side a mini peach cobber, recipe below), I realized that some of life’s simple pleasures lie in useful, elegant tools. Objects crafted by intelligent design to just … work. 

    When we were first married, we stocked our kitchen with a number of cool gadgets and nifty objects. “Ooooh! Look at this!” we’d say, ogling some whatzit in the middle of Service Merchandise. As if someone who has never cooked knows what needs to be in her kitchen.   Perhaps the old-timers had it right back in the day before wedding registries and gift cards.  Back when people bought you a gift that had a chance of reflecting their years of experience rather than catering simply to the whims of the couple.  Hey, I can say it. We had a registry (at 2 stores) and I wanted to be all matchy-matchy. 

    I’ve pared down my kitchen once or twice since then, and here are a few kitchen pleasures that I really would hate to lose:

    Cutco Knives

    http://www.cutco.com/home.jsp
    Why:  Well-balanced; blade runs through the entire handle; stays sharp; easy care; excellent blade; lifetime warranty

    It really sucks when I’m slicing and dicing at someone else’s house and I discover their knives are crap.  Someone told us early on to invest a chunk of money in a really quality knife set. I rarely run across another set of knives that even begin to rival the balance or edge of a Cutco blade.  Go get yourself a couple, especially the one they recommend for onions.

    Tupperware Spatula/Scraper and Small Colander
    http://order.tupperware.com/coe/app/home

    Why: Spatula is heavy enough to do the job yet pliable so it actually scrapes a bowl instead of abusing it.  Mini colander is just so dang handy.

    Unfortunately, both of these items are “out of print,” so to speak, in the Tupperware universe.  But you can find them on eBay

    I’m convinced the BEST spatula in the world is produced by Tupperware. I love this one…. when I lost my old one, I tracked down a Tupperware Lady within days to get another one.  Unfortunately, Tupperware has discontinued my white version, so I’m hoping their “Saucy Silicone Spatula” is an acceptable substitute (despite the stupid alliterated appellation).

    And I have to give a shout-out to the Small Colander. Every time I drain a can of, well, anything, I thank the industrial designers at Tupperware for making the perfect tool.

    Speaking of perfect tools….

    Pampered Chef
    http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/shopOnline.tpc

    Why: Everything they make is well-made, useful, durable, and reliable.

    I stocked my kitchen with PC merch back when I and all my newly-married friends were hosting parties, and the investment has paid off.  I could list everything, but these are the pieces I really appreciate…..

    • Nylon Spiral Whisk:  Yay! I can actually make sauces without tearing up my nonstick cookware!
    • Mini Spatula:  Perfect for cookies
    • Pie Server:  Never met a better one, either for cutting or serving
    • Stoneware:  I live and die by the 9″ pie plate and the rectangular baking stone
    • Mini Steamer and Strainer:  It’s made for cooking vegetables, but I use mine to melt butter without the stuff exploding all over my microwave. (Ew.)

    And who wouldn’t want …..
    Random Heat-resistant Cooking Fork

    Why:  Who doesn’t want to poke at stuff in the pan with a giant fork? 
     
    We bought ours at a kitchen store up near DC somewhere one time when we were on vacation, but you can find them on Amazon. Mine’s red.   I prefer a fork to a spoon when cooking — you mix things in better, you can beat up ground meat properly as it cooks, you can really get in there and stir things around. Get one.


    Cast Iron Skillet

    http://lodgemfg.com/
    Finally got one. ‘Nuff said.  You can even throw the thing on the grill.  This is love.

    PS. I have a flat-top electric range (which I also love) and I was scared away from cast iron for years because the manufacturer’s documentation said cast iron skillets could shatter the cooktop. I’ve since learned that my Maytag range is downright durable and easy to clean, and I’ve not had any problems using cast iron on the cooktop.

    LeCruset Mini Stockpot
    http://cookware.lecreuset.com/
    Why:  It’s just perfect for cooking nearly anything for 2-4 people without scorching.

    Maybe someday I’ll be able to afford a LeCruset dutch oven.  The dang things cost as much as a food processor, which I can’t afford either, so I figure I’ll wait a few years and see if I can snag one for Xmas.  Till then, I’ve fallen in love with this petite yet incredibly useful enameled pot…. It makes amazing sauces, soups, pasta dishes, risotto, shrimp and grits, etc.  It even showed up as a centerpiece at a recent party, filled with ice and cold Cokes for the kiddos. The enameled metal holds its temperature well. 

    This is one of the few things I own, in addition to my Calphalon cookware and PC stoneware, which requires hand-washing.  Otherwise, I’m a big fan of “dishwasher safe” — including my Noritake china.  I hate to handwash stuff.

    A couple cookbooks that explain HOW to do stuff or WHY
    You don’t need recipes anymore….  you can track down millions online instantly, complete with how-to videos and user ratings to make sure you don’t pick a gross one.  So I don’t need to collect cookbooks.  I do like to have a couple good ones on hand to help me with difficult recipes (not that I make difficult recipes much; I’m too lazy) or to explain why certain kinds of cooking methods are better for a particular recipe. 
    So, I really value…..
    *Joy of Cooking (that classic kitchen workhorse)
    *anything by Alton Brown (because he teaches you HOW to cook and WHY it works)

    In the end, though, I don’t think cooking is all about “the stuff.”  It’s mostly about finding garden-fresh or locally-grown produce that’s in season and making that taste AWESOME…. and enjoying it all the while.


    I PROMISED…..a recipe.  Here’s what I whipped up for us to enjoy as a snack this afternoon using some fresh Georgia Bell peaches that come to market for only 3 or 4 days each year. Yum!

    PERFECT LAST-MINUTE COBBLER FOR TWO

    I originally got this recipe on a flier from the Italian Market & Grill restaurant in Greenville, SC…. and tweaked it. :)

    You need:
    2cup baking dish (I use a large Corningware round ramekin)
    1 fresh peach
    2-3T butter*
    3/4 cup flour (or Bisquick)
    3/4 cup white sugar
    3/4 cup milk (or buttermilk or cream or whatever)
    Extra Credit:  1/2 tsp vanilla extract OR amaretto OR almond extract; pinch of salt; dash of nutmeg or ginger

    –Heat oven to 375
    –Throw the butter into the baking dish and toss it in the oven as it preheats to melt the butter.*
    –Chop up the peach. Don’t stress it. Just chop it. (Peel it first. No one wants to eat fuzz.)
    –Mix together everything else in a small bowl.
    –Pull the baking dish and melted butter out of the oven, carefully.    Pour the mixture into the baking dish. Don’t stir it into the butter, just leave it.  Add the chopped peach on top.
    –Bake for about 40min, till it looks “done” — not runny, but not burnt on the edges either. Like a soft cake.

    MMMMMMMMMMMMM

    *If I hear that you used some kind of nasty margarine or other icky excuse for God-given butter, I *will* come find you.  This is a cobbler with fresh, in-season peaches.  Use butter!

Comments (2)

  • This cannot work in fact, that is what I consider. link LINK 5. Quite helpful piece of writing, thanks so much for this post. link 4 2. This will not really have effect, I consider like this. web site 1. Quite useful data, thank you for this article.

  • Very effective material, thanks so much for this post. 0 here 1. Really effective info, thanks so much for the post. 1 1 4. To my mind every person ought to browse on it. 8 here here. This can’t really work, I believe like this.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *